My First Opening Day

I invited my roommate to attend opening day with me for the fact that he has never experienced one. One beer lead to another and I told him that I would let him write about his experiences. Without further to do I present Alex Monroe’s first ever opening day.

My Opening Day Experience
By: Alex Monroe

Opening Day…I know this is a little bit late, but to be honest, I am finally sober enough to tell you about my amazing experience. I would like to fore warn you that I am not what you would call a ‘diehard’ Rays fan. I get my updates from the best Rays blog, TropTalk (no bias whatsoever), I watch a decent amount of games, and if I am lucky I get to go to some games. What really matters now though is that I was at Opening Day.

The stadium was packed, fans were yelling, it was a fantastic feeling. It was like opening up a box of cracker jacks for the first time…huh?! Although it started a bit slow, the heckling fans behind me took the game to a level of enjoyment that I could have never expected. Damn, Tampa Bay, I didn’t know the fans had it in them. I guess it was all those years of sucking that we can now finally start talking trash. And WOW was there a lot of it.

I really couldn’t ask for a better opening day. It was only the 5th inning when the Rays were down by two before they made something happen, so my panties were not in too much of a bunch. Then an inning after Bartlett drove one in, Evan Longlorious took a meaty pitch into the outfield, what an experience. Forget Vinny Lecavalier, Longoria now has the key to the city. And then for Clutch Crawford to get that double for the win, now that was incredible. Everyone fist pumping…oh wait never mind that’s the Jersey Shore…everyone went absolutely wild.

Bottom line, Rays played their asses off and really proved that they are going to be top competitor this year. I mean they have to live up to all those predictions by ESPN about going to the World Series again right? Don’t get me wrong, but the fact that a 1 million a year dude is on the cover of a Video Game and is one of the best players in the league really says something. Anyway, I can’t wait to go to the next game because Opening Day really pumped me up! As for now, I’m going to crack open another Yuengling. GO RAYS!

Leave a Reply

