Boston Trip: 4/9/2009

I know it’s long overdue, but I’ve finally found some time to post a few of the pictures from the trip to Fenway park I took back on 4/9 to see the Rays take on the Red Sox. It was the third game of the series and Matt Garza started against Daisuke Matsuzaka. Garza tossed a gem and the bullpen made it uncomfortably exciting in the latter innings, but they still pulled out the victory.

I went to the Rays store downtown the day before to buy the warmest Rays sweater I could find because I am a product of the Florida weather. Fortunately, it wasn’t needed as it was a perfect day that Thursday afternoon. We (my father and I) got into Boston Logan at about 10AM and headed straight for the subway. Two trains and five Dunkin Donuts later, we arrived by the ballpark.

I must say, I highly dislike all things Sox related but the atmosphere there was fantastic. It was two hours before game time by the time we arrived at Lansdowne Street, and it was packed. There were a ton of bars and restaurants surrounding the park, but we decided to just wait until we got inside to eat.

For being almost 100 years old, Fenway does not show it. They’ve done a good job renovating the place and keeping it from looking like a dump like the old Shea or RFK in D.C. We were hooked up with tickets on the first base line behind the dugout about 20 rows up. I hear from my New England friends that I lucked out sitting in the nicer area, thus avoiding the notoriously rambunctious “Fenway Faithful”. I personally think it’s just a ploy to make themselves seem like more passionate fans or something because I was wearing all Rays gear, and did not receive as much as a head turn, let alone any heckling. All teams have those fans though, many of which I feel go to the Trop and give Boston a bad reputation because the people that I did come in contact with were very friendly. Oh well.

Once the game began, it was all Rays. I absolutely loved the feeling of hearing an entire stadium quiet while I stood and cheered each big hit after big hit. Most notably was Shawn Riggans’ homer, that’s when I knew I was in for a treat.

All in all, and probably due to the fact that it wasn’t freezing and the Rays won, it was a great experience. While I don’t like the Red Sox or their fans that feel they are God’s gift to the world, as a fan of the game I would have to recommend making the pilgrimage to one of baseball’s last cathedrals. I have over 150 pics but here are some of the good ones. Enjoy.

Lansdowne Street

Lansdowne Street

Ted Williams

Ted Williams

First look at the Green Monster from our seats

First look at the Green Monster from our seats

Outfield

Massive press area

Massive press area

J.P. Howell trying to hide his Hello Kitty bag.

J.P. Howell trying to hide his Hello Kitty bag.

A better look.

A better look.

First pitch of the game.

First pitch of the game.

C.C. with the dugout in front of him.

C.C. with the dugout in front of him.

Longoria before his first inning double.

Longoria before his first inning double.

Spit Fire doing his thing.

Spit Fire doing his thing.

Matt Joyce after hitting his first homer.

Matt Joyce after hitting his first homer.

A good shot to give you an idea about how nice the weather was.

A good shot to give you an idea about how nice the weather was.

Homerun swing on a hanging curveball.

Homerun swing on a hanging curveball.

Aki poking a double off the Monster.

Aki poking a double off the Monster.

Joe Nelson to Jason Bay.

Joe Nelson to Jason Bay.

Caught off guard but you see me reppin'.

Caught off guard but you see me reppin'.

Leave a Reply

